A Month in a Cup; February 2017

“The day and time itself: late afternoon in early February, was there a moment of the year better suited for despair?” Alice McDermott
 That was honestly the most positive quote I found concerning February. Quite a negativity around this month from the circles of literature. To be fair, February has kinda earned its reputation. For one, look at St. Valentines, sweethearts are all over the place trying to find the perfect gift (in the most perfect reasonable price) and on the other hand the single ones, are reminded of the absence of a partner annually, in the coldest days of winter (with their fireplace as their only intimate companion). The fact that mr. Valentine departed life brutally as a wild supporter of love and defender of forbidden love overshadows the fun so…he’s literally playing the third wheel. If this wasn’t enough, this month is considered the month of the dead. If you seek more explanation;

“February is a suitable month for dying. Everything around is dead, the trees black and frozen so that the appearance of green shoots two months hence seems preposterous, the ground hard and cold, the snow dirty, the winter hateful, hanging on too long.” 
― Anna Quindlen
 Anna couldn’t have put it more perfectly. That being said, my February was quite something, a very nice something. More than satisfied, I must admit. I hold only one grudge against myself, my dearest readers. I have been an awful blogger but in the end I didn’t want to force my writing. So here I am, very much well read from February and ready to greet March through this post.
Grab your coffee, and let me lure you into the past 28 days of my life.

 The second week of the month who-must-not-be-named found me in the company of my sister at Spoon, a sweet heaven located in a corner of Thessaloniki’s center. It is a little diamond that we, the locals like to take credit of.

This spontaneous brunch was utterly refreshing and fun. It was more than nice to spent some time with my sister downtown, we had our chats, we said our gossips and as it is expected took our photos (the majority of them too embarrassing for the eyes of my readers). This visit of ours ended with a local man trying to sell in Greek some lotteries to a young, English couple. It was definitely a comical sight.

An impacting part of February was undoubtedly this movie of Jarmusch’s!
My best friend and I decided to take advantage of a some sort of ticket deal or sale that was undergoing to my city’s most aesthetically pleasing cinema and hear our instincts regarding this film. Great reviews, intriguing trailer and the spectacular faces of Adam Driver and Golshifteh Farahani; the expectations very high.

I’m in the most wonderful position to say that it surpassed my expectations. This is story about a writer from the writer’s point view not from Hollywood’s or Godard. It’s simple. It’s unfiltered. And that’s what made it unique to me. The tricky part done, **BEWARE OF LONG PARENTHESIS** (We were literally running all over the port to catch the movie. As a result, blinded from the room’s darkness and silenced by the audience’s quite attentiveness we rushed to the first seats we saw. Very high and not very cinematicfriendly. I’m also sure that our nervous laughter did annoy the elderly couple next to me.) with my cup of coffee in hand, I entered the world of Patterson.

The world of his was poetically and sincerely imperfect. I was too stunned by the sight of it that I was completely overcome with the urge to write, to take notes. It didn’t prove wise to write in my notebook, too dark and my journal consists of mostly neat writing so didn’t want to break the habit so I turned to my loyal cup.


Film wise, the month continued to be special; “Kafka (1991)”, “Dead Ringers”, “What If”, Zoolander 2″
Book wise; lots and LOTS of Murakami with the only exception of a little Dazai, my reread of “The Deathly Hallows” and my current read of “Jane Eyre”. Interestingly enough, I discovered a hidden treasure, a majestic bookshop!

 

Dearest, who-must-not-be-named month you were full of mischiefs and adventures both real and fictional!
Goodbye! 🌹

Leave a Reply

